Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Extras | All Access e-Edition | Home RSS

NCCF presents Footprints award to Richard Johnson

June 22, 2008
“Lives of great men remind us all that we can make our lives sublime and leave our footprints in the sand of time.”

The Northern Chautauqua Community Foundation recognized two such great men at their annual meeting: the late George B. Weaver Jr. and Richard Johnson.

“We couldn’t hold this meeting without acknowledging and paying respect to someone who was so very important to the community at large and the NCCF,” President Kurt Maytum said. “Earlier this year, we lost George Weaver. In his memory, we will be planting a Copper Beech tree, his favorite.”

Also in Weaver's honor, the foundation's Footprints award was renamed as the George B. Weaver Jr. Footprints Award.

“The Footprints Award has been established to honor a person, a family or group that exemplifies the NCCF mission,” said Diane Hannum, Executive Director.

According to Hannum, Johnson was presented this award for “his history of significant public service, philanthropic endeavors and endeavors that have made an impact and that have enhanced the social and cultural climate of the northern Chautauqua community.”

Johnson received a framed photograph of the fountains at Barker Common.

“The award is based on service and philanthropy and throughout Rick's adult life he has been a leader in both,” Hannum said. Johnson has been involved with the Dunkirk Chamber, helped with the formation of the Northern Chautauqua Chamber and the foundation. He has served as a longtime board member of Brooks Memorial and Dunkirk Rotary, and was involved with Fredonia Opera House restoration as part of the crew that refinished seats among many other things.

“It really is a lifetime achievement award,” Hannum said.

The foundation announced its philanthropic efforts for 2007 as a success: 517 grants were awarded, and 238 scholarships were awarded, equaling $646,540; $913,525 in contributions were received for future efforts; 13 new funds were added for a total of 304; and the foundation's assets equaled $15,236,663 for the year.

The foundation voted for director members and voting members. Gerald Hall, Alberto Ray and Monica White will serve five year terms as director members.

Elected voting members, each serving a three year term, were: Gary Bennett; Mary Bivens, Ph.D; David Hazelton; Richard Johnson; Inez Krohn; Susan Marsh; Kristine Morabito; Meredith Patton; and R. Bard Schaak.

The president also appointed Elizabeth Booth, Jon Cooke and Rose Ann Falcone to the Nominating Committee, each for a one year term.

Comments on this story may be sent to


I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web